Home > Uncategorized > Watcher

Watcher

Then I felt like some watcher of the skies,Moon between trees
seeing you across the sticky formica table
shining, anew and glowing.

When I saw you last time, 10 years ago
with bristly chin and grubby t-shirt you
jabbering away, circling me in
an erratic orbit, spinning moonlight,
moon-like around my silent earth.

Now you’re here, drinking coffee in
Peitit Tout, clean-shaven (miss the beard though)
Speaking in complete sentences and even pausing
for breath.

Earthbound – I can touch you now.

* **********************************************
Note: I was in a local cafe, earwigging on a reunion meeting between two people who hadn’t seen each other in a very long time. It was a touching conversation and I couldn’t help imagining the story behind their lives which inspired me to write this poem. The first line is from Keats – thanks to Jo Shapcott for suggesting taking a line from Keats at her latest poetry workshop.  Because I copied the first line from Keats, I have entered this in the WordPress Daily Challenge

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 814 other followers

